Benin Highlights




VIDEO CLIP BENIN, (under construction)


For more details, blogs and pictures click here

The Republic of Benin (formely known as Dahomey till 1975)

Our first visit to Benin was in 1977 when Benin was a Marxist/Leninist (1975-1990) country under control of the Military Council of the Revolution (CMR), which nationalized the petroleum industry and banks. In those days it was called People’s republic of Benin. The capital city even had its own Red Square. The capital city of Benin is Porto Novo, however the seat of government is in Cotonou. The country has varied indigenous languages and religious groups. Most fascinating for us was Vodun (commonly known as Voodoo) Benin consists of a narrow wedge of territory extending northward for about 420 miles (675 kilometres) from the 100km wide Coast in the south, to the Niger River, which is part of the northern border with Niger. In the Northwest it is bordered by Burkina Faso, The East by Nigeria and in the West by Togo. Benin consists of five natural regions. The coastal region is low, flat, and sandy, backed by tidal marshes and lagoons. Behind the coast mostly savanna and valleys, followed by rocky hills and mountains at the Northwest border with Togo. In the north and the northwest of Benin, elephants, lions, antelopes, hippos, monkeys, and the endangered West Africa lion.