Americas Highlights

Explore this region:


General Information

The Americas, which are also collectively called America, are a landmass comprising the totality of North and South America

The flatter eastern side of the Americas is dominated by large river basins, such as the Amazon, St Lawrence River, Mississippi, and La Plata. The Americas extend 14,000 km from north to south.

The Americas are home to a billion inhabitants, two-thirds of whom reside in the USA, Brazil, and Mexico.

I have divided the Americas into four major regions:

  1. USA and Canada,
  2. The islands of the West Indies, The Carribean
  3. Central America and Mexico
  4. South America

Click the bar above to select a region